Re-using bits from a dead sump pump

So, after an evening of hysteria when the sump pump failed and I spent what seemed like forever disassembling my shelves/desk that I had built over top of the sump pump hole in the basement I had some parts left.  Now, I originally had my doubts about what this odd pass-through plug on the sump was, and I should have guessed, there is a float inside that connects or disconnects one line, all the current runs through that switch, then runs the pump.  This means that it is a pass through with 2 wires that come from it that, if connected, will allow the device to turn on.  So, hook it up to a switch rated for wall current, or a pull cord…

there we go, in line power switch. why does no one make these?

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

