Begone old broken fog lights

 

This car came with very little aftermarket stuff, the most apparent are the fog lights.  There are two things I don’t like about them: the position, and the functionality.  I think they should be lower, like right below the bumper.  It would also be nice if they worked.  Putting them below the bumper would hang these particular lights a little low, however, losing me that valuable ground clearance I crave.  To get these off I had to remove the grill:

Seven screws to remove the grill (center bottom is longest and top two are flanged)

You will see on my fender there is some window screen material, I really like this as it keeps the radiator from getting clogged with leaves and crap.  The wires for the lights were run around an existing wiring harness and I had to remove the grill to get them unplugged.  Now we can have a look at the bulbs:

Rust

Rust inside the reflector

Holy shit, rust flakes galore

So, those are going away.  I could theoretically sandblast and paint them, but why? I don’t really like them very much.  These brackets, however…

really god damn sturdy brackets

I feel like I can re-use these for my under-bumper fog light.  This is the sort of custom work I like to see on a vehicle.  Now I have a cable coming out near the radiator that is controlled by a switch in the dash.  That is perfect for my new fog light.

Double bullet connector

Switch, actually works

That’s that! or so I thought.  While re-assembling the grill I broke off a bit.  I decided that since I didn’t have JB weld that some VHB and a chunk of aluminum angle would hold that tight enough.

Apart

Together

There, that ends my removal of the old, broken, and very rusty fog lights.  The new one is planned to be a yellow LED strip on a bracket along the bottom of the bumper.

The home page for this project is here, it has a link to the album of pictures.

One Response to “Begone old broken fog lights”

  1. My new car! | Evan's Techie-Blog Says:

    […] fog light removal […]

Leave a Reply

