End caps for the wagon luggage cover

I was lucky enough to get a functioning and color correct luggage cover with my wagon.  I did notice, however, that the plastic caps on the ends of the bar that you pull were crumbling into dust.

old and busted

I suspect this has to do with a combination of UV and heat damage over 33 years.  I figured that the quickest way to replace them would be with heatshrink so I ended up putting four layers of the same size on the metal bar and I think it works well.  There’s a cushion so as not to scratch the plastic when extended and it looks better than a bare metal bar.  Another quick fix.

new hotness (I apologize for the quality)

The home page for this project is here, it has a link to the album of pictures.

One Response to “End caps for the wagon luggage cover”

  1. My new car! | Evan's Techie-Blog Says:

    […] Wagon cover end caps […]

Leave a Reply

