I need my power back

Well, in a previous mod I removed the cigarette lighter and replaced it with a much more useful dual-USB port and voltmeter device.  I still maintain that this is a better use of center console space than the cigarette lighter, but now I really am lacking 12V stuff in the passenger compartment.  So much stuff you can buy at truck stops or gas stations plug into a cigarette lighter that it would be a major handicap not having one.  That being said I still don’t like that standard for connector so I picked a different one.  I particularly like the Anderson Powerpole connector standard(s).  They’re modular, expandable, and high-current.  I have a buddy that has done this, so I’m blatantly copying him because it has been really useful to have an inverter, ham radio, or whatever connected to it.  He saw me doing this and jokingly asked “Exactly how I did it? with no fuse?” and to be honest that’s what I was planning, but, well, the fuse holder isn’t that bad to install.

un-switched, straight from the battery (although I put a fuse)

I used the aftermarket gauge wiring to pull the power wire into the engine compartment.  The path to the battery was along the harness but I didn’t put an extraordinary effort to make the wire neat because it was cold out.

The routing’s kinda… obvious

In the passenger compartment I ran the wire behind the center console over the transmission hump and up under the radio.  This shelf is actually pretty perfect to have it resting on and the cigarette lighter adapter I made is in the glove compartment now (for compatibility reasons).

Anderson powerpole connector and cigarette lighter adapter

The home page for this project is here, it has a link to the album of pictures.

One Response to “I need my power back”

  1. My new car! | Evan's Techie-Blog Says:

    […] Always-on 12v power […]

Leave a Reply

