Completely mandatory Eagle accessories

This one is just me showing off.  All my life my dad has had a brass embellished american flag and eagle licence plate frame in the basement on a workbench.  Last year he picked up some model paints and touched it up, then surprised me by installing it on my 1957 Chevy 210 for me when I got home from work. I really like it and decided that I would like another one for my new AMC eagle.  It turns out that it’s made by a company called Baron LFI and originally came with a keychain, moneyclip, and pin.  He found me a new one on Amazon, but it just looks too shiny, almost cheap in the pictures.  Maybe I’ve been conditioned to think that new products are photographed like that and my experience has shown me most new products are crap.  I really gravitate toward the items on ebay that have one photograph taken of them that shows how they really look (I try not to buy things with stock photos).  I found one on ebay proclaiming to be from 1985 and compared them.  The older one has different slots at the top to bolt the plate to, that sealed it, I bought the old one.  I didn’t care about the slots  specifically, but that told me it wasn’t the same mold and therefore could be worse in ways I couldn’t see.  I think it looks pretty good and installing it reminded me I need to sandblast and paint that spring-loaded frame.

Lookin’ good.

The home page for this project is here, it has a link to the album of pictures.

One Response to “Completely mandatory Eagle accessories”

  1. My new car! | Evan's Techie-Blog Says:

    […] Bling […]

Leave a comment